General Information

On this page you will find information to assist with the teaching of courses in the Science learning area.

An online space has been established to provide an opportunity for teachers to collaborate across sectors, and share resources and ideas. Instructions on how to join can be found on the Communities of Practice page.

The Curriculum Leader for Science can be contacted via email at

Course Development

Teachers and the wider educational community are key partners in the course development process in the Years 9 to 12 Project. The Road Map for this learning area includes the current course offerings and a staged process of replacing or creating new courses. For more information visit the Course Development section of this website.


Information to support the delivery of courses currently accredited by TASC can be found below.

Learning Area Group (LAG)

Years 9 to 12 Learning Area Groups (LAGs) meet as required to advise on strategic aspects of course provision, development, implementation and review. 

Current LAG members are:

  • Peter Wright (Curriculum Leader – Science) – Chair
  • Madiyantika Varma (Yr 11/12 – Department of Education Sector)
  • Amanda McTernan (Yr 11/12 – Catholic Sector)
  • Katrina Munting (Yr 11/12 – Independent Sector)
  • Emma Heynes (Yr 9/10 – Department of Education Sector)
  • Andrew Seen (UTAS)
  • Donna Sattherthwaite (UTAS)
  • David Ponting (Industry)
  • VACANT –  (TasTAFE)

For more information about the LAG please contact